Two new Kawerau councillors | News | Kawerau

Two new Kawerau councillors

25 October 2016

Two new people – David Sparks and Sela Kingi – are elected to Kawerau District Council in the 2016 local elections.

Along with the six returning councillors, the newly elected members will help steer Kawerau into a positive future and guide the district’s direction for the next three years, says Bay of Plenty Regional Council marketing and communications advisor Justine McLeary.

Kawerau District Council has two new councillors. 

David and Sela replace Alistair Holmes, who did not stand for re-election, and Stephen Tuhoro.

The returning councillors are Berice Julian, Carolyn Ion, Faylene Tunui, Rex Savage, Warwick Godfery and Chris Marjoribanks. Malcolm Campbell, Kawerau’s mayor of 15 years, has also been re-elected. This will be his sixth term.

Kawerau District Council chief executive Russell George said there were often mixed emotions at election time.

“It’s sad to note that two of our existing councillors – in this case Stephen Tuhoro and Alistair Holmes – won’t be returning. On the other hand it’s great to welcome two new faces and we look forward to working with the new council.”

Sela Kingi is married with three children. A qualified mental health clinician, she is Tuwharetoa Ki Kawerau’s infant, child, adolescent and youth’s social worker.

David Sparks has lived in Kawerau on and off for 16 years. He is a community Lawyer with Baywide Community Law Service, vice-president of Kawerau Grey Power and a trustee at Mountain View Rest Home.

David and Sela both look forward to bringing fresh ideas to the council table.

The new council will have its initial meeting on October 25.

source; Sunlive