Kawerau Youth Council sworn in | News | Kawerau

Kawerau Youth Council sworn in

31 March 2015

YOUTH COUNCIL: (Back) Warwick Godfery, Chris Marjoribanks, Bless Maxwell, Levi Whata, Malcolm Campbell, Iraia Nuku, Carolyn Ion, Faylene Tunui, JJ Rika, (middle) Hohia Heurea, Majean Rogers, Timoti Rogers, Leo Bicknell, Taylor van Gulick, Saphyrra van Gulick, Rebekah Bloxham, (front) Elly Marie Beattie, at the Kawerau Youth Council’s swearing in ceremony on Friday.
Photo supplied

KAWERAU’S Youth Council for 2015 was sworn in during a ceremony on Friday afternoon with support from four of the town’s councillors and the mayor.

Youth projects officer JJ Rika said around 30 people attended the event, which began with words of advice from Mayor Malcolm Campbell and councillors Carolyn Ion, Chris Marjoribanks, Faylene Tunui and Warwick Godfery.

Mr Rika said the youth council’s formal declaration went very smoothly.
After the formalities were completed Levi Whata led the youth council in a haka to thank their whanau and friends for their support.

The afternoon finished with refreshments, singing and a special cake to celebrate Levi’s birthday.

Mr Rika said already the group was showing signs of true leadership potential.

Source: Whakatane Beacon