Kawerau Success story!! | News | Kawerau

14 October 2014

Kawerau’s Reegan Reid and Jonathan Smith officially have the potential to be future leaders to look out for. These Tarawera High School senior students have recently graduated from the Bay of Plenty Education Trust’s Future Leaders’ Programme. The programme, facilitated by Phil Laurence, has been developed specifically for the Bay of Plenty Education Trust (BOPET) to assist a group of talented students to develop and hone their leadership skills. During the course of the programme the selected students, from Eastern and Western Bay of Plenty colleges, receive instruction, guidance and personal coaching from experienced professional coaches and facilitators in the art of leadership. As with the other participants, Reegan and Jonathan have been part of the programme held during the selected students’ final years of secondary education. Other Eastern Bay of Plenty students to graduate recently are: Bryce Coulter of Trident High School, Devin Te Tai and Talei Bryant of Whakatane High School, and Caitlin Papuni-McLellan of Opotiki College. BOPET chairperson Roger Loveridge says there is far-reaching value in encouraging and developing leadership skills in young people. “Leadership is important in every sector, in every community and in every country. “This programme is designed to contribute to the revitalisation of organisations, to the creation of new enterprises, to the renewal of healthy communities, and to greater respect and understanding in the world,” he says. The BOPET is a charitable organisation that has helped many students develop both their academic and leadership abilities. The Trust also awards academic scholarships to all the greater Bay of Plenty colleges and these will be announced at upcoming school prizegivings. Western Bay of Plenty graduates for 2014 are: Fergus Janissen of Aquinas College, Jack May of Otumoetai College, Jed O’Brien of Katikati College, Ben Warren of Tauranga Boys’ College, Ellie Goff of Tauranga Girls’ College and Nina Lopes, Frances Bridgman and Olivia Johnson all of Mount Maunganui College.

See more at: www.kawerauonline.co.nz/news/kawerau-success-story.html#sthash.XYVHHOGJ.dpuf